Who is it for?

In general, pulmonary rehabilitation programs are suitable for people who have chronic lung disease and who have symptoms of dyspnoea on exertion and/or fatigue. Partners or caregivers can be encouraged to come and provide support.

Specific eligibility criteria are outlined in the table below:

Eligibility Criteria
Inclusion criteria. Include patients who have any of these criteria:
  • Have a diagnosis of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease or other respiratory conditions such as bronchiectasis, interstitial lung disease, chronic asthma, lung cancer or pulmonary hypertension.
  • Are recovering from an acute exacerbation of their condition.
  • Are willing to participate (even if they are on long-term oxygen theraphy or are current smokers).
  • Are at any stage of their disease.
Exclusion criteria. Patients should be excluded if they:
  • Have severe cognitive impairment.
  • Have severe psychotic disturbance.
  • Have a relevant infectious disease.
Exclude patients from the exercise component if they have:
  • Musculoskeletal or neurological disorders that prevent exercise.
  • Unstable cardiovascular disease (e.g. unstable angina, aortic valve disease, unstable pulmonary hypertension).

Transport can be a barrier to attending pulmonary rehabilitation programs. Options for assistance with transport will vary between states.

Examples of assisted transport include:

  • Community transport
  • Department of Veteran Affairs transport
  • Local council options
  • Hospital cars
  • Voluntary drivers
  • Car pooling
  • Taxi subsidy support scheme
  • Red Cross
  • Use of project funding for transport
  • Examples of assisted transport include:

For those patients who are able to drive to the program, advice on car parking facilities should be provided.

The Toolkit

Getting Started
Getting Started
Patient Assessment
Patient Assessment
Exercise Training
Exercise Training
Patient Education
Patient Education
Patient Re-assessment
Patient Re-Assessment
Additional Resources
Additional Resources

Endorsed by the following organisations according to their respective approved criteria: